God the Holy Spirit

I don’t know about you, but to me inserting the title of the Almighty before the Holy Spirit just looks odd. Sure, we’ve known from our earliest years, at least on an intellectual level, that the Holy Spirit is God, the third Person of the Blessed Trinity. But, for me, at least, and possibly for you as well, the reality never quite strikes as to what “the Holy Spirit is God” implies.

File:Holy Spirit as Dove (detail).jpg
No, the Lord and giver of life is not a dove. Shocking, huh?

I think we subconsciously, unintentionally, see this divine Person as a sort of “extra”, or a piece of information about God, but Who’s not the “real deal”. Now I suppose this is somewhat reasonable. After all, in the New Testament, He is not mentioned nearly as often as the Father or Son, and He really only says something once: “Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them” (Acts 13:2). Still again, He’s almost more presented as God’s action in creatures rather than God Himself.

So all in all, this leads to a subconscious and unfortunate misrepresentation of Him. He is God, whole and entire. He is a Person, not a force. As the Athanasian Creed says, He is “eternal, infinite, uncreated, almighty, He is Lord, and He is God”.

My dear friends, let us think about this and truly come to grasp what it means, so that we may have a better view of the God Who sanctifies us continually.

And may He, the Holy Spirit, bless you with every blessing.

6 thoughts on “God the Holy Spirit”

  1. If we truly think about this, it hits home the fact that God is in each of us, if we are to be temples of the Holy Spirit. :) He literally then is in us, and thus works through us. Harder to grasp, but still equally as awesome.

    And I have noticed you write an awful lot about the Holy Trinity. Nice!

    Like

    1. Yeah, sorry, been a personal favorite subject of mine these last few months. I think that may be because I went through a long period of believing the doctrine by the skin of my teeth. But now I see how logical, scriptural, and utterly profound it is that I could talk about it for the rest of my life and would probably never get bored. :)

      Like

    2. And to make the comment about God being in us even more interesting: the indwelling of one Person is the indwelling of the three, and thus Our Lord says that in addition to the Holy Spirit being with us, “If a man loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.” So not only the Holy Spirit, but the Father and the Son also, are in our souls. Nifty, no?

      Like

      1. Yup, definitely even more awesome.
        And don’t apologize–the Trinity is something that isn’t really talked about, or that is almost just taken for granted. There is so much Mystery surrounding it that there is no end to an understanding. It’s very interesting!
        By the way, I’d love it if you came by to visit my blog.

        Like

      2. Start wherever you want–the “what I write about” might be helpful. Some topics are clearly more girl-related than others, but I write about a lot of different things.

        Like

Leave a Reply

